Surat Lok Sabha seat BJP candidate wins unopposed

Surat: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate for the Surat Lok Sabha seat, Mukesh Dalal, was declared victorious unopposed today. The Surat District Collector awarded a certificate of election to Mukesh after all other candidates withdrew from the fray.


After the invalidation and rejection of the nomination forms of the Congress candidate and dummy candidate over fake signatures of proposers yesterday, other independent and smaller party candidates also withdrew their nomination forms for the Surat Lok Sabha seat today.

Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel took to social media platform X to congratulate Dalal, writing, ‘Hearty congratulations and best wishes to Surat Lok Sabha seat candidate Shri Mukeshbhai Dalal for being elected unopposed. This marks the beginning of the historic victory of the Bharatiya Janata Party across India, including Gujarat, in the Lok Sabha elections. It’s a clear indication of the lotus blooming with BJP’s resounding victory in all 26 seats in Gujarat and the realization of the resolve of #AbKiBaar400Paar under the leadership of Hon’ble Modiji.’

Reacting to this State BJP Chief C R Patil said, “Surat offered first lotus to Prime Minister Narendrabhai Modi!! Congratulations and best wishes to Mukeshbhai Dalal, Surat Lok Sabha candidate for being elected unopposed.”

C. R. Patil addressed the press conference

On the last day of withdrawal of nominations today, all eyes were on the Election Office (district collector office). The only two candidates last remained in the race – one was BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal and the other was Bahujan Samaj Party(BSP) candidate Pyarelal. As the BSP candidate withdrew his nomination, the BJP is all set to win this seat unopposed.

Log Party’s Soheil Sheikh, Global Republican Party’s Jayesh Mevada, independents Bharat Prajapati, Ajitsinh Umat, Ramesh Baraiya, and Kishor Dayani withdrew their nomination forms. Only one candidate, Pyarelal Bharti from Bahujan Samaj Party(BSP) remained against BJP’s Mukesh Dalal eventually.

As the BJP successfully managed the BSP candidate’s form withdrawal,  the BJP has won this seat unopposed.  With this, Surat will be the first ‘Lotus’ to be offered to Prime Minister Narendrarbhai Modi in the Lok Sabha elections 2024.

With this, elections are going to be held only for 25 Lok Sabha seats and not all 26 in Gujarat. Voters of Surat will not need to step outside their homes to cast any vote on polling day which is 7th of May. DeshGujarat